Protected Characteristics

At Glenmere Community Primary School, we promote the Protected Characteristics. The Equality Act became law in 2010, protecting everyone in Britain from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. The Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics 

  1.  Age
  2. Disability
  3.  Gender Reassignment                                                                    
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or Civil Partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual Orientation
  9. Pregnancy and Maternity.

At Glenmere, we actively promote these within our curriculum, including through the use of 'Everyone is Welcome' 'No Outsiders'. Children are taught how we are protected from discrimination. Under the Equality Act you are protected: When in the workplace, using public services like healthcare or education, when using businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods, when using transport, when joining a club or association, when in contract with public bodies like your local council or government departments.

It is important that all pupils gain an understanding of the world they are growing up in and learn how to live alongside, and show respect for, a diverse range of people. 

It promotes a proactive approach to bullying, teaches British Values, reduces potential for radicalisation and prepares children for life in Modern Britain.


  • Promote equality of opportunity in schools and prevent discrimination.
  • Teach children about the Equality Act 2010.
  • Create a positive culture in the school where all groups of people are welcome.
  • Teach children to feel comfortable in themselves while recognising and celebrating difference and diversity in others.
  • Prepare children to leave primary school happy and excited about living in a community full of difference and diversity.
  • To contribute positively to society and life in Britain as they grow up.

How is it taught?

  •  42 picture books: 6 in each year group from EYFS to Y6.
  •  Picture books deal with all equalities in the Equality Act
  •  Each characteristic is taught in context with British Law.
  •  Creates and develops a whole school ethos.

Everyone Welcome – No Outsiders Curriculum at Glenmere

Teaching the Equality act at Glenmere

Everyone Welcome information booklet 

Useful Websites:

No Outsiders Website:

Equality Act 2010:

Ofsted Guidance 2019: